Attention Seeker- April Free Choice

“Hi Jasper, you won’t believe what just happened.” I exclaimed over dramatically, while the judgemental police sergeant looked at me with what I can only describe as exasperation. 

The room seemed to be spinning even though I was sitting in plush chair while the police man glowred at me.

“Please tell me you’re not at the police station again” his voice was groggy meaning I had woken him up, which wasn’t surprising it was 4 am in the morning.

“Why else would I be calling you at this ungodly hour. Listen I’m exhausted I’d call dad or uncle Lyle but I don’t want to be murdered, so your my only option. Also you might want call our lawyers, lawyers as in plural.” why were the sergeants eye glowing.

“I’ll be there in an hour or two and Emmy don’t worry about dad by the time I’m done with you there won’t be anything left for him to break!” Well that went well.

“well kid.” Sergeant judgemental asked. 

“He was just telling how much he loves me.” I said handing him the cell phone. When he gave me his signature angry look I decided to stop playing with the man, I was far too tired for games.

“He’ll be here in a few hours .” My head was spinning all I wanted to do was close my eyes and take a long nap.

“Do you have any idea how much trouble you are in, you’re clearly intoxicated and we found drugs in your car and the blood tests that my team took, I can guarantee will be positive. Thats a minimum of five years in jail and maximum of fifteen.” He looked so angry that it made me want to cackle. 

“Do you have any idea who I am, this isn’t my first rodeo! Forget jail I probably won’t even get community service.” Who did this moron think he was.

Instead of looking angry he laughed “Please do tell.”

“Emerald Steven Hollister, as in Governor Steven Hollister’s daughter.” I proudly exclaimed, waiting for him to shake in his chair but instead the man looked at me with something like pity.

“So you think your family will bail you out like always I guess.” He shook his head at me. 

His attitude was pissing me off, instead of looking at me with fear like every other policeman who was ever stupid enough to arrest me, he looked like he felt bad for me. 

“Let’s look at your record shall we, 

Name: Emerald Steven Hollister, 

Age: 16 

Father: Steven Calvin Hollister, 41

Mother: Diana Landon Hollister, deceased.

Charges

16/4/17

• Assault and battery.

6/8/17

•Drunk driving 

• under age drinking 

19/2/18

• Possession of marijuana 

9/7/19

•Assault 

•High levels of lSD and Acid in the blood.

3/11/19

•Drunk driving 

•under age drinking

•Under the influence of alcohol, marijuana and LSD. 

•Hit and run.”

He voice was so patronizing that it me want to throw something at him.

“It seems you’ll start 2020 with a bang, let’s add your new achievements to your rap sheet shall we

1/1/20

•Drunk driving 

•Possession of cocaine 

•Under the influence of cocaine 

•Resisting arrest 

•Assaulting a police officer”

He shook his head, “by the speed your going to get yourself killed.” 

“Death is imminent, everyone will have to it face sooner or later. Might as well have fun before it comes knocking on my door step.” I gave him my signature grin, which I have been told makes people want to slap me.

Before he could reply the door of his office burst open. 

Jasper stood there tall and mighty in his Armani suit, 

standing behind him were three of our family lawyers.

“You must be sergeant Stawell, I’m Jasper Hollister. Emeralds older brother.” Jasper said extending his hand.

The sergeant looked at Jasper with skepticism. I couldn’t blame him, he looked like he could be my dad.

Jazz noticing his stare added 

“I’m a decade older .”

Sergeant judgemental shook his hand, nodding his head in understanding. Jasper barely glanced my way, use to my shenanigans at this point.

which oddly hurt, this use to end far more satisfying when he would get upset.

“I assure you this will not happen again, here are her bail papers signed by a judge. If there is any other problem these three gentlemen would love to help out.” Stawell just shook his head.

“Judge Hollister, any relation.” His voice dropped with sarcasm.

“YOU TOLD UNCLE LYLE.” My eyes almost bulged out of my head.

After the hit and run incident, uncle Lyle warned me that he wouldn’t save me next time.

“No, I called another judge I knew at 4 am on New Year’s Eve to prepare bail paper for you.” He snapped.

Dread took over me, dad would take the calm and collected root and try to sign me up to a rehab facility, again. Uncle Lyle on the other hand would eat me alive. 

Stawell gave me a pitying look “she’s free to go for now, I’ll see you in court Emerald .” He said patting my shoulder. 

“It was nice meet you Mr Hollister.” Stawell and Jasper shook hands once again.

“You too sergeant.” 

Jasper grabbed my left hand and the back of my neck. Practically carrying me out of the police station like a misbehaving cat. 

He opened his car door placing me in the passenger seat as if I was made of glass and buckled me in.

He got in quickly beside me 

“Grandpa, Dad and uncle Lyle will be waiting for you once you wake up. Were thinking about joining family therapy.” He informed in a soothing voice.

“You’ll be sleeping in my room I need to monitor you while you sleep.” He muttered under his breath.

“Don’t you have to go to work tomorrow.” I asked, hoping he’d say no.

After all he was the heir to Hollister and was always busy doing something important.

Dad was busy with politics and uncle Lyle had stepped back once he became a judge. Grandpa was over joyed when Jasper showed interest in the family business and had taken him under his wing. Then there was moi, the screw up that no one had time for anymore.

“Your my top priority. I promised mom I would take care of you.”

My mouth ran dry, my heart ached painfully.

I closed my eyes not wanting Jasper to see me cry.

I know he meant to sound nice but it came out as if I was another chore on his very long To Do LIST.

“Why do you keep doing this.” He mummers under his breath, it was rhetorical question one he always asked and I never gave him a honest reply.

I had a strong urge to scream in his face that this was the only way anyone ever payed me any attention.

I could be first in my class and no one would care.

I could could win the student body election and no one would care.

I could make the senior varsity volley ball team and no one would care.

You know how I know this, because I did all those things and barely got a congratulatory pat on the back.

But when I get caught doing something bad everyone seems to suddenly act as If I was the centre of their world or more accurately their problems.

Maybe I should have just straight up tell Jasper I wanted some of his time but I never was good at expressing myself not in a positive light anyway.

So I put up my devil may care armour and gave him a lazy smile
“Because I cherish these car rides home from the police station.” making him scoff as he continued to drive. For a person who was quite intelligent my bother could be so oblivious.

Beggars can’t be choosers if I can’t get his appreciation I’ll take exasperation.

3 thoughts on “Attention Seeker- April Free Choice

  1. Hi, Mehreen. First off, I would like to say how much this piece reminded me of one chapter of my novel, Distant. I really loved your use of a criminal record list which really exemplifies the level of sophistication and effort you put to the layout of this story. I liked the use of establishing a profound setting of the police station and your understanding of writing dialogues was exemplary, Other than a minor grammar and spelling/punctuation error, this piece was really enjoyable to read. Good work. Keep it up!

  2. Hi, Mehreen. First off, I would like to say how much this piece reminded me of one chapter of my novel, Distant. I really loved your use of a criminal record list which really exemplifies the level of sophistication and effort you put to the layout of this story. I liked the use of establishing a profound setting of the police station and your understanding of writing dialogues was exemplary, Other than a minor grammar and spelling/punctuation error, this piece was really enjoyable to read. Good work. Keep it up!

    Sincerely, Afraz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *